From A Pity-Party to Standing on His Promises

So, didn’t write anything yesterday due to illness, frustration, and a little heart-break. Started my Saturday morning at 5am still feeling slightly frustrated and angry, having spoken to my Sister on Thursday morning.

The first week of October delivered a phone call from Sister, advising me that our small town was heading up a campaign for the 22nd annual Make A Difference Day, the nation’s largest day of volunteering scheduled for 27 October of this year. These projects provide the community with many volunteers for home repairs, with no out-of-pocket costs to the homeowners affected, so it’s a rare opportunity for those of us who are retired senior citizens and surviving life on very limited incomes.

So I made a phone call to our local Code Enforcement Officer (CEO) who came out and spoke with me.  Now, I have several projects that are a necessity around my home, i.e., an 8″ hole in the attic roof where the exhaust vent from my stove  is too short and leaves a good 12″ hole between the pipe and the outside vent, so that everything escapes into my attic; no ceiling insulation in the garage conversion, so heat/cold are totally unstable, depending on the weather; no running water in the master bathroom because I have yet to install my pedestal sink and I lack good plumbing skills; and an electrical short in my hallway due to can lights needing replacement.  And these are just the major issues.

The CEO came over, took notes, and said she would submit “the report” to the English teacher in charge of this year’s work detail and said someone would call me if my request “was approved”.  HA! Fat Chance, right?! Seems as if I always get the short end of the deal! (Alas! Pity Poor Me!)  At any rate, on Thursday, Sister informed me that the English teacher had followed up with their request for assistance.

Now I should be happy and excited that they are receiving the help they need, and I am, don’t get me wrong.

But how do the Powers-That-Be determine who to help? They need sheetrock on their ceiling entryway due to repairs not finished when their electrical went out.  My electrical can lights shoot out sparks, is a major fire hazard, and they need to be replaced…..ho-hum! (Arched eyebrows and crossed arms here!) Good thing I have the Fire Department on speed dial, although with my Son serving as a Volunteer Fire Fighter, I don’t relish making that phone call and explaining my “negligence” to either him or the Fire Chief!

So I’ve been up since 5am, halfway between tears and anger, but still hanging on to my humor and my faith in a God who is far wiser than Self. Who am I to question why my wants aren’t being met? After all, as God reminds me amidst my “Pity Party”:  “Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” Luke 12:7 NIV and “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?”  Matthew 6:26 NIV

I am truly grateful, O, God, that I have everything I need, which You alone have provided: my children, our health, food on the table, a roof over our heads, and the love and warmth and grace that abounds within my children. The rest will come and go, and we will manage.  Thank You, too, Lord, that I woke up to breathe another day of life! This weekend’s readings from the Daily Devotional at The Upper Room (http://devotional.upperroom.org/) reminds me that “The Lord has done it this very day; let us rejoice today and be glad.” Psalm 118:24 NIV and“Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. Praise the Lord.” Psalm 150:6 NIV

So, Thank You, Lord, for Your Grace as I stumble through this glorious life which You have breathed into me! May I continue to live my life as a testament of Your love and Your grace for all the world to see, that You may be honored and glorified in our midst. In Jesus’ Name I pray, and I believe! AMEN!

About timpson

Retired, I sew, quilt, paint, refinish furniture, love to DIY, and surf the net.
This entry was posted in Faith, Praise, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

